Congratulations to the entire team of Little Bird on our record 13 Canadian Screen Award wins – the most earned by a series to date! We made a beautiful show and are so appreciative of the recognition. Thank you to all our funders and stakeholders for helping us realize this dream. Little Bird is a coproduction between Original Pictures, Original Pictures Manitoba and majority Indigenous-owned Rezolution Pictures of Montréal. Filmed in Manitoba on Treaty 1 territory, Brokenhead Ojibway Nation and Sioux Valley Dakota Nation by the production company OP Little Bird, majority owned by Red River Valley Métis Tanya Brunel, and edited in Montréal.

Congratulations also to our colleagues at Rezolution Pictures who made the companion documentary Coming Home/Wanna Icipus Kupi, awarded the Donald Brittain Award for Best Social/Political Documentary Program.

The recognition Little Bird has received at Canada’s most important industry awards adds to its acclaim from the WGC, DGC, Playback Magazine, Serielizados Fest, MIPCOM Cannes Diversify TV Awards and Series Mania (to date).

Little Bird’s 2024 Canadian Screen Awards:

Best Drama Series

Jennifer Podemski, Hannah Matty Moscovitch, Christina Fon, Ernest Webb, Catherine Bainbridge, Linda Ludwick, Kim Todd, Nicholas Hirst, Zoe Hopkins, Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers, Jeremy Podeswa, Christian Vesper, Dante Di Loreto, Tanya Brunel, Jessica Dunn, Claire MacKinnon, Philippe Chabot, Lori Lozinski, Ellen Rutter


Best Lead Performer, Drama Series

Darla Contois


Best Supporting Performer, Drama Series

Braeden Clarke


Best Ensemble Performance, Drama Series

Darla Contois, Ellyn Jade, Osawa Muskwa, Lisa Edelstein, Michelle Thrush, Braeden Clarke, Imajyn Cardinal, Joshua Odjick


Best Direction, Drama Series

“Love is All Around” – Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers


Best Achievement in Casting, Fiction

Lisa Parasyn, Carmen Kotyk


Best Photography, Drama

“I Want My Mom” – Claudine Sauvé


Best Picture Editing, Drama

“Burning Down the House” – Maxime Lahaie-Denis


Best Sound, Fiction

“Love is All Around” – Paul Lucien Col, Louis Gignac, Evelio Manfred Gay Salinas, Claire Pochon, Anton Fischlin, Simon Meilleur, Éric Med Lagacé, Delphine Measroch


Best Production Design or Art Direction, Fiction

“Burning Down the House” – David Brisbin, Jon Van Winkle, Robert K. Laurie, C. Summer Holmes


Best Costume Design

“I Want My Mom” – Charity Gadica


Best Achievement in Make-Up

“Bineshi Kwe” – Nina McArthur, Megan Stark, Kelly Harmon


Best Achievement in Hair

“So Put Together” – Pina Robinson


Little Bird is a CRAVE Original Series, and an APTN Original, in association with Fremantle. Starring Darla Contois, Ellyn Jade and Lisa Edelstein, developed by showrunner Jennifer Podemski and Rezolution Pictures, and created by Jennifer Podemski and head writer Hannah Moscovitch. Written by Hannah Moscovitch, Zoe Hopkins, Shannon Masters and Darrell Dennis. Directed by Zoe Hopkins and Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers. The series is executive produced by Ernest Webb (Rezolution Pictures), Catherine Bainbridge (Rezolution Pictures), Kim Todd (Original Pictures), Nicholas Hirst (Original Pictures), Christina Fon, Linda Ludwick, Jeremy Podeswa, Jennifer Podemski, Hannah Moscovitch, Zoe Hopkins and Elle-Máijá Tailfeathers with Christian Vesper (Fremantle) and Dante Di Loreto (Fremantle). Producers are Tanya Brunel (OP Little Bird) and Jessica Dunn (OP Little Bird), Claire MacKinnon (Rezolution Pictures) and Philippe Chabot (Rezolution Pictures) and Lori Lozinski and Ellen Rutter.


Little Bird is produced by Rezolution Pictures and OP Little Bird with the participation of the Government of Manitoba Film and Video Production Tax Credit, the Canada Media Fund (CMF), the Canadian Film or Video Production Tax Credit, Manitoba Film and Music, the Quebec Production Services Tax Credit, Rogers Cable Network Fund, the Bell Fund, and the COGECO Independent Production Fund. Produced in association with Bell Media. Additional training funding provided by Bell Media, the Indigenous Screen Office, REEL Canada, the Director’s Guild of Manitoba and the Director's Guild of Canada. Fremantle International is the distributor for the series.